Tags

, , ,

Are you a liner? By that, I mean, do you line everything you sew? Since kicking my garment sewing back into gear last year, I’ve noticed that so many sewing bloggers do. Don’t get me wrong. I line dresses and skirts, too, but not automatically. For one, I find it kind of tedious, and not always necessary. Plus, that means, in addition to your fashion fabric, you’ve got to have a lining that at least sort of “goes with” the outer fabric. And… I’m usually in a hurry and just want the garment finished!

It doesn’t seem that long ago to me, that dresses and skirts were not routinely lined, and instead, you wore a slip. I have several half slips that I always wore, and at least one full slip, but it seems the slip has gone out of style. Yet a slip can be so practical.

So, I made this early 1970s lingerie pattern by Butterick, and want give it a proper “pattern review” here. I made the length of view A, with the simple design of view C. (This pattern is still available, click on the picture to head to the shop.)

Pattern Description: Full slip in three lengths has self or lace top and trim. Bra has inset at lower front edge. Petticoat in three lengths has elasticized waistline, and lace trim. Briefs are elasticized at waist and leg edges.

Pattern Sizing: Size 14, Bust 36

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I made view A in the style of view C (without lace or trim) and it does look just like the drawing.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked everything about the pattern.

Fabric Used: tricot from fabric.com, and for the straps, supplies from Bra Components.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: No alterations at all, even though my waist and hip measurements are quite a bit larger (5+ inches) than the pattern measurements. It’s a perfect fit. Design-wise, I serged the hem (which was not exactly the look I was going for, I would add trim or just fold it up and use a twin needle or coverstitch machine next time). I did underline with some jersey scraps that I had, so the bra top does have 3 layers. Also, in the instructions, the straps are to be sewn onto the outside of the bra edge, and I wanted the ends to be inside the seam allowances, so basted them on before the lining was sewn on for a cleaner look.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will sew it again, possibly making it a little longer.

Conclusion: I think having a collection of slips is a great addition to anyone’s wardrobe.

