Tags

, , ,

I’m changing the name of Most Viewed Monday to Fantasy Design (could change it again, you never know). This week’s fantasy sew is a pattern from the mid 1980s, Simplicity 7379.

I’m kind of excited to “pretend sew” this one, as the ’80s are not really known for great fashion from the big hair, linebacker shoulder pads, and hammer pants. But this one has some potential. I would make view 3, the sleeveles version, and the biggest change I would make would be to make it floor length. Can’t you just see a glamorous gown for those holiday parties?

The skirt also has a similar silhouette to the Sewaholic Crescent skirt which is so flattering to so many. The plain, princess seamed bodice offers the opportunity to have a fabulous necklace, and then a gorgeous belt to finish off the look.

I did my “shopping” for this at Emma One Sock. (Note that I have no affliation with any vendor mentioned.) Emma One Sock has beautiful, high end fabrics, perfect for a special occasion dress.

Cotton

Starting with a cotton/viscose woven in black and white, with kind of a digital-look floral design, this fabric is $18 a yard. It is 60″ wide, so according to the envelope I’ll need about 4 yards. (I’ve added about 1/2 yard to give me the added length.) This will cost me $72 (fabric only). It would be beautiful with a bright patent belt.

 

 

Wool blend jacquard

Next is a gorgeous wool blend dressweight jacquard. It has a bit of sparkle, and, according to the description, a bit of crispness, which would give a satisfying swish as you walked across the floor and made your grand entrance. Metallic accessories would be gorgeous! At $25 a yard, we’re moving into the plus $100 range.

 

Silk Charmeuse

 

Finally, silk. You wouldn’t want to consider a formal gown, without exploring some silk options. Any solid color would certainly be wonderful, but I’m going with a print. I’m not sure it’s my favorite, but it would be unique and memorable. This one is a silk charmeuse from an Italian designer, and is $32 a yard. I do love a formal dress in navy!

 

What about you? Would you want to revisit the 1980s?

